Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

It is fact that, one of the grave issues faced by the urban area is the escalating rate in population. There are several contributors to this menace and it is important to adopt effective and urgent measures to tackle it.

One obvious reason of overpopulation in cities is, cities are the main job hub which offers countless job opportunities to the job seekers. This is because majority of businesses such as IT companies, textiles shops, hardware shops and many others are located on cities. Since these companies recruits different types of job seekers from educated people to unskilled workers, people migrate from rural area to urban area. In addition to this, people working in these companies prefer cities to live which helps to avoid long travels and travel expense for their job. Hence, urban areas become congested. Another significant factor is, better facilities provided by the cities. Cities have high quality facilities like transport, education, health care system compared to villages and which are available in short distance. Consequently, people choose cities to live which brings comfort into people's life.

However, the menace of overcrowded cities can be tackled through effective measures. One obvious solution is, the government should take steps to improve the facilities and technologies in country side which would help the business move from cities to village areas and grow in same path as cities. If new businesses started in rural area, it would help the people who lives in that area to get a better job opportunities in their living area. Hence, it would control the migration from rural area to urban area.

To sum up, population explosion in cities is a burning issue all over the world. Since its consequence on society are detrimental, if needs to addressed meticulously keeping long sighted plans in mind.