Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Population in cities and urban areas is constantly increasing, this has led to many bad consequences. Over population can cause pollution, crowding, inflation, traffic congestion, communicable diseases and many more problem. In this essay I will be dealing with a few of the issues above in detail and give possible solutions.

Firstly, pollution in all form (air, water, sound) shall cause a major health and environmental damage among the people, hence people should prevent unnecessary spillage of harmful substances into water and air. Likewise, governments need to have stringent laws against industries that pollute water and air. Citizens need to avoid Public meetings, political rally's and functions held in open to decrease sound pollution. Furthermore, dustbins and waste segregation and collection systems need encouragement. Private bodies, self-help groups and charitable organisations who are showing interest in restoring lakes and ponds could be recognised and employed by the state.

Secondly, traffic jams are becoming a frequent mess in the city roads. Common man has to be encouraged to use public transport so that the number of cars on the roads become less. Additionally, authorities should make sure that connectivity in the towns and cities is well maintained. Trains and buses have to be maintained in good condition both by the government and the public. Privatisation of the maintance of trains and buses shall be a good move.

To sum up, excessive population in urban locations are getting us into multitude of difficulties. Some of them despite their complexities can be tackled by simple action such as avoidance of waste spillage, new laws, proper garbage disposal and use of public transport by the public and government bodies.