Parents are often over-anxious to teach their children to speak. If children are “slow developers”, parents will often allow psychologists and schools to intervene and give their children speech therapy. Do you think children develop at different rates and so should be left to themselves to acquire skills, or is such intervention justified?

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some children suffer from speaking development ability affecting their parents feel anxious so much. Speech therapy is a problem solving offered for this case which can be undergone by psychologists and schools. In my opinion, this technique presents more beneficial than children are left to fix their own struggle to learn speaking skill about the side effect of their character growth.

Basically, children whom their capabilities of speaking skill are underrated can learn how to solve it individually without interferences by mature people since they have a capability to imitate and mimic the way of their peers’ speaking. In short time, their own version will be flowed naturally by combining friends’ way. For instance, kids striving to fix this problem will meet their friends who can speak well in playing ground. In this moment, the sufferers will know how to utter a word by seeing and hearing their friends’ pronunciation either incidentally or deliberately. Yet, is there an adverse effect this method? These children might become less confident to speak bravely in public because they are not sure whether the words are pronounced properly or not.

If these kids take part in speech therapy, this consequence will not happen. The reason is that a speech assistant will teach patients how to pronounce word by word by moving their tongue to create specific sounds. As an illustration, patients will be educated the difference sound between v and f. Hence, the listener will notice the kids say word few or view in a sentence. Although spending much time and requiring hard work, this method, i believe, will obtain a benefit emotionally for the sufferers, and their self-confidence will boost to talk to others.

In conclusion, the strength of speech therapy outweighs self-studied for children having obstacles in speaking ability by looking at the implications of these methods for children’s personally trait. It is advocated that parents should more aware about matters confronted by their children in terms of speaking ability , and directly get involved to fix them.