Parents of obese children should be punished for making their children fat Do you agree or disagree

The parents of children who suffer from obesity should receive punishment for allowing them to become overweight. This essay disagrees with this statement because obesity can be caused by genetics and children often eat unhealthy food outside of the home.

Firstly, childhood obesity is strongly linked to genetic and hereditary aspects, which are the main reasons contributing to obese children. In fact, it is abundantly obvious that genetic factors are involved in the regulation of body weight and in determining individual responses to diet and exercise. A study of Genome-wide Association Studies revealed that specific chromosomes play a serious role in pediatric setting and that shedding light on the genetic architecture of childhood obesity would facilitate the treatment of this disease. As a result, DNA and genetics are the main source of childhood obesity.

Secondly, parents are not present when children consume most of their food. When children are at school eat snacks and have lunch and the adults have no control over their dietary intake during this time. A child could consume the vast majority of their calories during these unsupervised periods, without their mother and father’s knowledge or permission, and much of this intake could take the form of junk food. A recent study found that primary school students consume an average of 75% of their daily recommended calorific allowance during school hours.

In conclusion, in my personal point of view, parents are not predominantly responsible for making their children fat. Genetic reasons and the absence of parents during the consumption of specific daily meals as well are the main contributors of childhood obesity.