There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes being committed each year While some think that the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent many people believe that other measures will be needed Discuss the both views

Increased crime is a pervasive issue in modern societies. To tackle this, some state that offenders should be charged with death sentence as a deterrent, while others advocate charging other penalties, like extended prison jails. In this essay I will examine both these views.

Supporters of capital punishment feel that it deters crime. The main argument is that the fear of death stops people from committing the most violent offences, including murder and rape. A good example is US; recently, after the ex-President resumed this punishment, a criminal sentenced to death because of murdering a pregnant woman. As a result, the crime rates of homicides plummeted. Indeed, the repercussions of such crimes are avoided because the offender cannot pose anymore a threat to others. Obviously, if the death penalty was the rule in countries’ penal codes, the crime rates of the most violent crimes would be decreased.

Even though death sentence has merits, many believe that there are alternative measures, much more effective to eliminate the increased crime rates. The most significant one is the implementation of longer prison sentences. The counterargument to capital punishment is that some criminals are convicted and executed without effective proves, whereas the solution is simple; just throw away the keys. In Turkey, for example, the extension of prison offences caused a reduction in crimes and in recidivism as well. When an individual commits a crime, there is always the possibility of innocence. In these cases, the prison jails act as a good deterrent to all crimes.

In conclusion, although many people feel that capital punishment should be omnipresent, in order to mitigate the high proportion of crimes, there are some who opine that there are alternative ways to serve this purpose, like the longer prison sentences. I am of the view that we have no right to take another human life.