Parents often give children everything they ask for and do what they like. Is it good for children? What are the consequences when they grow up?

Most parents grant children with all things they want and let them do what they want to do. In my view, giving what they want and letting them do things they want is harmful. This essay will discuss the harmful effects caused by this behavior in children's future life.

Firstly, if parents always grant children's wishes, their children will be pampered and selfish. This is because children feel that their parents will always fulfill their demands. When children have reached their adulthood, they will interact with other people. This behavior will not be accepted because in certain circumstances they will even be required to prioritize other people's needs. For example, when children are in their 20s, they may have to work with their colleagues and they need to give priority to their teams' needs first.. If those children act with that way, they will not be accepted in their workplace. Thus, they will not be successful in their careers.

Secondly, providing all children's wants will only make them unable to live autonomously. This is due to their relying on their parents, and think that their parents are able to provide everything. This leads to the loss of struggles and efforts. When children are growing up with these behaviors, of course they will not be able to live independently. For instance, parents get used to buy children all toys they want although they are expensive. As a consequence, children will think they can get anything they want without even doing their responsibilities such as studying and tidying up their beds.

In conclusion, granting children with everything they want is not a good habit since it will make children pampered and selfish; and they cannot live independently in the future.