Parents should control the amount of time their children spend on the internet

Needless to say, the internet has become a rampant media now a days. Some sections of the society nurture this thinking that parents had better not prohibit their kids from surfing the web. My views are in tune with this ideology.

To set the wheels in motion, the internet is a storehouse of knowledge. All the information is just a mouse click away. If children use the net, it will broaden the horizons of their knowledge. Moreover, children can remain updated with the help of latest technology. If parents discourage their children from using the net, they will become technophobes.

Moreso, the internet plays an important role in communication. Earlier, children used to have friends only in their schools and neighborhood. Thanks to the internet, they can now have a wide circle of friends all over the world. Furthermore, the young ones can their stress by watching videos, listening to music and playing video games on the net. The internet lends colour to their monotonous life.

On the flip side, every dark cloud has a silver lining. The internet has a darkside also. The internet casts an adverse effect on children's health. Youngsters spend huge chunks of time on their monitors. They are becoming mouse potatoes. It also promotes sedentary lifestyle. Spending long hours on the net can impair their eyesight. Last but not least, web media swallows a lot of precious time of tiny tots. This leads to poor academic performance.

In compendium, after pondering over the preceding information it is felt that the internet has merits and demerits but merits outweigh the demerits. Therefore, parents should not stop their kids from using the net.