In the past, it was a common for older people to live with their children and grand-children so that their relatives could take care of them as they grew older. Nowadays, it is common in many places for older people to live away from their families, in special home for the elderly

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of special homes for the elderly

In this age, almost the elderly in many places has not sufficient respect because of several factors such as the generation gap or their relatives are too busy so that they don’t have time to take care of the older people. These are the reasons why the special homes are built for the elderly. Although these special homes bring certain advantages, there still exist some noteworthy drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is beneficial to build the special home for the old people. Firstly, these are the homes where they will spend the rest of their life. In these houses, they can have a chance to access to the high-qualified health’s services by not only the government but also private companies when they face some serious diseases. They are fully provided with food, clothes and avoid the poverty. Besides that, they have freedom. They can share their hobbies with others. It’s quite difficult for them to express their interest in living house because of having the generation gap.

On the other hand, constructing housing for the elderly has its own drawbacks. They can found the loneliness. One person who becomes older only wants to live with their family but when they live in the special house, they usually feel they have been abandoned by their relatives. This easily causes mental problems. Moreover, they will feel inconvenient and boring with the routine living in these houses. It’s better for them to play with their grandchildren. If they have to suffer from any diseases, they will be spent more time on taking care by their children.

In conclusion, however, “ special homes” is a great solution to the elderly who are homeless or don’t want to live with their relatives, there are some negative aspects that the government and the society should take into consideration.