In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the internet. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, people tend to opt for preserving information on the internet instead of printed books. It is my firm belief that the upsides of this trend is more considerable than its downsides.

On the one hand, there are certain drawbacks of keeping knowledge online. To begin with, one might not be able to control the quality of the information that they encounter. Before a book is published, its contents are usually censored carefully. In contrast, information posted onto the internet is not always verified. Moreover, there is the problem of copyright infringement Knowledge on the Web could be re-uploaded illegally and shared without any royalties. For example, in Vietnam, people can easily read several copyrighted ebooks without having to pay any fee.

On the other hand, I personally believe that the positive points of posting knowledge on the internet are more significant. First, it is more convenient for people to access information. As long as they are connected to the net, they can gain access to a wealth of knowledge, regardless of their geographical location. In other words, one does not need to go to bookshops or libraries. Second, publishing expenses might be reduced. This is because there is no need to print out a large number of books. Also, without having to store and transport the books, a lot of money can be saved.

In conclusion, storing knowledge on the internet has several demerits. However, I personally think that the merits of saving information on the internet is weightier than keeping it in books.