In the past shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.To what extend do you think this is a positive trend.

Purchasing goods has been a necessity in the history of mankind. These days, some argue that this phenomenon has become more a pleasure than an essential activity. In my opinion, it is not always a positive trend.

A simple explanation for this new trend, is that people have more possibilities. Larger incomes and a higher variety of products have changed shopping habits. In addition, people are not restricted to the nearest store, they can choose between shopping centres, online-retailers or even travel to foreign countries. Additionally, not only do shopping centres sells food and clothes, but they also offer lots of places to spend free-time and relax, for example bowling alleys, restaurants, cafes and cinemas. This fact has made the process of shopping even more enjoyable, a way to relax, during which people visit some of these places with family or friends and spend their leisure time pleasantly.

According to other opinions and I tend to agree with them, people should attend some kind of educational programs, extracurricular and sport activities in terms of hobbies, instead of wasting their time on shopping. Those who buy for pleasure, should consider carefully what is crucial for them and be rational before making a purchase, otherwise they risk wasting their hard-worked money on unnecessary things. More than that, if they buy constantly, they will have a lot of products that they will never use.

To sum up, even if shopping can be an enjoyable hobby and might help some buyers to relax and overcome their stress, it still comes with considerable drawbacks, such as high expenditure, time-wasting and a collection of worthless products.