In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In the past, students preferred domestic tertiary education to that in foreign countries. However, the opposite trend has emerged with the increasing number of overseas learners. In my opinion, this change carries both pros and cons.

On the one hand, the growing trend of studying abroad can bring numerous benefits. When living in foreign countries, students are exposed to different cultures and traditions and have opportunities to meet people from various backgrounds. This not only broadens the young person’s horizons but also improves their foreign language skills as they interact with native speakers. Furthermore, most international students have to live independently when traveling, and this is an ideal time for them to strengthen their self-reliance, adaptability, and other soft skills. Also, having an international university degree enhances the student’s CV and gives him a competitive advantage over other candidates in the race for jobs.

On the other hand, the trend of the overseas study also has several disadvantages. Families whose children study abroad have to bear heavy financial burdens, since most universities attracting overseas students have high tuition fees, not to mention the cost of accommodation and travel. Another problem is the “brain drain” phenomenon, which impairs the quality of human intellectual capital and poses a challenge to the government. An example of this would be Vietnam, whose talented and skilled workers prefer to stay in foreign countries where they studied, to make use of better facilities, the welfare system, and wages.

In conclusion, migration to other countries for tertiary education often offers benefits for one's individual development but can have negative effects on families and society.