.Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions usually vary regarding whether or not free tertiary education should be given to all students. While the act of providing free-of-charge learning is somewhat beneficial, its impacts on the economy and society can be profound.

There are many valid reasons why governments should implement free-university policy. One of them is that all students, especially the underprivileged, would be entitled to universities without putting more pressure on their parents' budget. This means they will have more chances to get a well-paid job and enhance their prospects. Furthermore, society can greatly benefit from an improved quality of human capital. It can be said that a well-educated workforce is the greatest stimulus to the economy.

Despite the merits mentioned above, the provision of free access to college, in my opinion, can cause several setbacks. As the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, university degrees no longer ensure job seekers a lucrative career. Therefore, if there were too many graduates, it would lead to a considerable number of unemployed bachelor's degree holders. Also, since the government has to make enormous investments in education, they have to increase taxes and reduce welfare among others to compensate for the loss of money. The people, therefore, have to bear a heavier financial burden stemming from increased tax, and this could provoke outrage and even protest among citizens.

In summary, while giving free access to tertiary education is a humanitarian act, its effects on society should not be underestimated.