People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In this day and age, people are more and more enjoying using sugar-based drinks as a method to beverage. However, it leads to a lot of consequences for human health such as diabetes and obesity. In this essay, I will give some solutions to encourage people to reduce their consumption of such drinks.

In terms of principal reason, sugar and caffeine are the main culprits that make people find it hard to quit. To illustrate, these substances provide instant energy boosts that help the consumer be more focused and done their work effectively. However, after that, they quickly become exhausted and have to take another soft drink to get the extra energy again. Therefore, they become more and more addicted to sugary beverages unconsciously which leads to a situation that when they try to stop using energy drinks they might experience some common symptoms such as headaches, tiredness, and poor concentration. In addition, the fact that the meal will be tastier with gas drinks, especially when enjoying fast food, one of the most popular dishes around the world. So, some people add soft drinks in each of their meals on a regular basis like an indispensable part. It causes common nutrient-poor and harmful diets, which include a lot of sugar, in contemporary society.

Although reducing the consumption of sugar-based drinks is a complex task, there are some possible ways that could be taken to discourage people from using those drinks regularly. Firstly, a higher tax should be imposed on such products, because it makes their price inevitably increase and people would think twice whenever purchase a coke or soda. This may have an effect on the amount of sugar-based drinks being consumed. Another way is that there are should be more educational propagation campaigns that encourage and instruct people to follow a healthy diet and active lifestyle as well as point out some diseases associated with the excessive consumption of sugar-based beverages to refrain from using them.

In conclusion, the problem of people having more and more sugar-based drinks is caused by a number of factors as discussed in the essay. Despite this, there are various actions that can be taken to discourage people from drinking sugary beverages.