People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In today’s world, most countries show a great concern related to the number of sugary beverages used. It is a well-established fact that people are consuming more and more sweetened beverages. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate the factors which have resulted in this problem and put forward a variety of means to deal with this situation.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this issue is that in the contemporary world, the advertisements regarding soft-drinks are widespread. To put it in another way, the companies manufacturing beverages invest a large sum of money in advertising. Therefore, it is obvious that the advertisement of the soft drinks is pervasive in supermarkets, outlets, restaurants and so on. For that reason, people are more likely to be influenced by these advertisements. Hence, the consumption of sugary drinks will increase. One example to demonstrate this view is that Coca Cola spends the most global advertising and marketing than any other soft drink producer. To be more specific, this company averaged about $4 billion each year on advertising between 2015 and 2020. As a result, Coca Cola is by far the best-selling soda over the world, with the consuming amount going up annually. As this example reveals, the growth of sugar-based drinks consumed is attributed to their extensive advertisement.

Having identified the root of the problem, a good remedy to cope with is that the government should impose a tax on the products of soft-drinks. In fact, if the price of this kind of drink rises, the quantity of sugar-based drinks consumed will reduce. This is shown by the following example. In the United States, an analysis of the effect of the sugary drinks tax in Philadelphia found that the price of sugary drinks climbed by 1.6 cents per ounce was associated with a reduction of about 30% in the amount consumed by adults. Consequently, the government should take measures to tackle this problem.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the escalation of the number of soft drinks consumed results from the prevalence of advertisements. In addition, this phenomenon could be improved by the policy in regard to tax on these products.