People believe that unemployed people should be made to work for their welfare/benefit payments. Others, however, see this as cheap labor.

Discuss the possible advantages and disadvantages of making unemployed people take any job.

Do you believe that making unemployed people work is a good idea?

Some would argue that finding any job for unemployment brings obvious benefits especially to avoid them being criminals to earn money while training unskilled people needs a large budget to be allocated by the government. However, I believe that facilitating jobs for them is far better to encourage an individual to be financially independent.

One of the merits of making people go on work is to cut the number of crime rates in society. The common crimes in society such as pickpocketing and shoplifting are usually caused by unemployed people as a result of their poverty and want to get money instantly for fulfilling basic necessities. For example, the offenders of such crimes arrested in modern market Surabaya were being interrogated about their job, and they said that it was their permanent job for years. What are the consequences this? They are lack of special skill which can be used to work in a company or have own business as they only focus on committing crimes every day. Therefore, by facilitating them a workplace, they could shift mind and for further advantage, they could be aware of how important to have a technical competence as an employee to stop remaining in the bottom competition as blue-collar workers.

On the other hand, skill training for uneducated people uses the extra fund as it lasts for a long time and needs qualified trainers. Looking from their capability, the training should be done step by step in order to create long-term employees who are capable to compete with other job seekers. For example, the government in Canada provides 10,000 dollars for one million Canadians at ages 18-29 years who are not education nor employed to make them eligible with technology. This is accounted to be successful in the next three years training intensively to reduce the number jobless and increase productivity.

In conclusion, even though the cost needed to hone their skill is relatively high, it is truly suggested to adopt this policy for stopping crime rates motivated by lack of personal income and reduce the number of unemployed.