People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon?

In recent times, the advancements and developments of technology and society have played pivotal roles in many people's rising quality of life. As a result, when comparing to previous generations, it is expected that the life expectancy of individuals is going to increase. Notwithstanding the possibility of problems lurking beneath this notion, there are some noticeable advantages. In this essay, both the positive and negative facets of this problem will be elucidated before drawing any further conclusion.

On the one hand, longevity might lead to possible financial burdens. It is highly probable that if elderly people constitute a larger part of the labor force, it might form an employee shortage in the future. To be more specific, the retirement of workers is synonymous with the lack of employees, which might partly contribute to the possible dysfunction of several companies. Moreover, more financial supports may have to be spent on the cultivation of the accommodation and facility of nursery homes. In addition, A significantly large amount of the national budget might have to go for the insurance of elderly people. By shedding light on these examples, it is crystal clear that economic setbacks might happen by virtue of the increase in people's ages.

On the other hand, the increase in people’s life expectancy may come along with a better life and prosperity. As people live longer, they may have more time to fulfill their wishes or stay with their family members to witness the growth of their grandchildren. Furthermore, when the elderly have more time to live, they could accumulate more experience and share their reservoir of knowledge with the younger generations. For example, they could help their children to take a stroll down memory lane and vicariously walk them through life in the past. In that way, not only does longer life expectancy do wonders for old people’s mental health as they reminisce about the former years but it also helps youngsters to have a better understanding of their grandparents. Therefore, it is beneficial for both generations to have closer connections and build up stronger relationships.

In conclusion, longevity might lead to the shortage of workers and extensive spending on the insurance of elderly people, however, longer life expectancy can help old people to have more of their goals and achievements, as well as bolstering the kinship between generations.