People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

People's lifespans have been considerably prolonged, much more than they could have been in the past, thanks to the rapid development of modern healthcare. This medical miracle could not only be considered a blessing to us but also had a great impact on the worldwide economy and environment, which are detailed below.

First of all, aging can be seen as a signal of good luck in many cultures and beliefs, which allows people to enjoy their lives as well as gather with family members. For example, in some Asian countries like China and Vietnam, the wish for longevity is used the most to bless the elderly. In addition, with a long age accompanied by good health, people will be able to fulfill their incomplete dreams and plans in their youth. For instance, since 2000, the number of the elderly traveling throughout their country or around the world has drastically increased, which could not have become very popular many decades ago.

However, this preserved number of old people might affect the economy of a country since its government has to prepare an enormous budget for their insurance. As a result, taxes may rise as well, followed by an overburdened healthcare system. Moreover, material resources would be unable to provide sufficiently for the whole population, including the elderly. It could lead to massive pollution, not even new diseases and crimes resulting from the downfall of living standards.

In conclusion, longevity could be a foundation of happiness for some people, but a curse for others. A way to save and optimize our living resources for the current population should be put on the priority list.