In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects.

Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the drastic growth of globalization, international tourism has been playing a vital part of some countries' economies. However, many people claim that it has also led to some considerable drawbacks besides great profits, which will be detailed below.

First of all, it is obvious that international tourism can be a significant source of revenue for a country. For example, according to the latest report by the Department of Economy of Vietnam, the proportion of international tourism was recorded at roughly 45.9% of the total foreign exchange. In addition, it leads to another obvious outcome: it creates more and more jobs for local residents. Besides domestic tourists, local people can provide more and more preferential services aimed at foreign tourists, from whom they can truly profit.

Of course, on the other hand, there are also some considerable withdrawals from globalizational tourism. One of them is that the local environment is under threat. Motivated by short-term benefits, local people can exploit the local environment to its greatest extent, besides a large number of tourists who can litter, burglar local inheritages, or so on, due to their lack of common sense. Moreover, thanks to globalizational routes and travel, external diseases and sicknesses can spread among countries as far as possible. We can never forget how COVID-19, carried by tourists traveling by plane, has invaded and killed countless numbers of people all around the world.

All things considered, I don't stand against international travel since our countries can greatly take advantage of it, but we should establish a proper policy in order to protect our environment as well as our people's health. I hope we will find an absolute solution to this problem someday soon.