around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some argue that it is a positive outcome when our working and studying habits have been altered to keep up with the frantic pace of modernity as its technology has become more affordable and accessible, such as when adults began working from home and children began taking more and more online classes instead of traditional onesHowever, I completely disagree with this statement since it could lead to a significant downfall rather than a good one.

On the one hand, humans are social creatures since social interactions and communication among fellows are crucially irreplaceable. Working from home could considerably reduce interactions among co-workers in a company, or students in online classes are unable to talk and discuss with their classmates in person in a class, which can result in learning problems, depression, stress, and suicide due to a huge lack of real-life connections, and so do adults who have to work remotely for a long time. It can be proven clearly that during the COVID-19 quarantine, when people had to suffer the isolation, the rate of suicides was recorded at three-fold more than usual.

On the other hand, the accessibility and convenience of modern technology are undeniable. What to say, during the recent COVID-19 quarantine, thanks to technological accomplishments, such as smartphones, laptops, and iPads, people could keep their work, business, and study on track smoothly. As a result, adults could earn a living and youngsters could catch up with their studies until the difficult period was over. Without technology, the situation could have been drastically appalling.

All things considered, though technology has become an inevitable part of our life, I still prefer conventional way of working and studying. Interacting and communicating with one another directly is always great, as technology should be the second alternative for us.