People buy a product if it fulfills their needs; there is no need for advertisement. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

Promotion has been considered redundant because residents purchase goods to satisfy their demands. While I accept that needs are the major drive for consumption, I believe that advertisement, which plays certain roles, should not be eradicated.

On the one hand, it is understandable when demands lay the foundation for every purchase. Particularly, while consumers’ desire is infinite, their resources are limited, so reasonable decisions, related to their essential needs, should stay at the forefront. For example, statistics have indicated that 85% of surveyed residents prioritize accoutrements and food over clothes and cosmetics if making cutbacks is inevitable. Therefore, buying what they really need is the norm that social members inherently adopt to manage their budget efficiently. By contrast, if consumerism is taken to extreme, in which citizens buy goods compulsively, their financial status will be threatened.

On the other hand, advertisement is still necessary thanks to its discernible positive impacts. To begin with, only by commercial ads, which apply such various tools as prime time television or social networking sites, can the products’ images go viral, accompanied by a long exposure among consumers. In other words, promotion campaigns are indispensable tools for enterprises to establish brand awareness for costumers, so launched products are more likely to be bought. In addition, if advertisement is exploited effectively, companies will be able to gain a competitive edge. Indeed, when technological advancement facilitates them to manufacture similar goods, a unique promotion which leaves an indelible impression on clients may make their own product stand out over the competitors’.

In brief, although most goods are acquired to meet customers’ needs, I opine that it is still favorable for enterprises to maintain advertisement because of its specific advantages.