People in community now could buy cheaper consumer goods. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, the demand for consumer goods has increased to a large extent. Majority of people are preferring to buy cheaper goods to save money. This essay will focus on both and drawbacks of this issue.

To begin, more and more people in the society are tending to acquire goods at a cheaper price because of several reasons. Firstly, one of the major reason for this can be the wish to cut their expenditure. For example, the everyday expenses on an average per person has risen over the recent years. The prices of petrol, food we take, and many other commodities is increasing drastically. One way of compensating these costs is by buying products with cheaper prices and thus saving money.

Another major reason for increased purchase of consumer goods to be considered is availability of more number of options. To illustrate, if we consider clothes, the duplicate of same product is available in local markets at a lower rate and this encourages people to buy stuff from street shopping than spending too much money in shopping malls. Furthermore, the preferences of people change very often. In this case, it is better to buy something at a cheaper rate than buying costly product and throwing it away after using it only once or twice.

Though there are many benefits of acquiring consumer goods at lower prices, there are few drawbacks that cannot be ignored. The major drawback is that goods bought at cheaper rates lack good quality and durability. In detail, as the price decreases, the amount of money invested in manufacturing the product also declines and thus affecting the quality of the product. Also, rise in the purchase of cheaper products means the number of people buying things from local markets increases in turn effecting the vendors in big shopping malls.

To sum up, I believe that the benefits of purchasing goods from local vendors at a cheaper rate are more when compared to drawbacks. However, both governments and individuals should encourage these products so that it will be beneficial to most of the local vendors. All in all, it can be observed that the trend for cheaper goods from local markets is popular these days.