People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, courtesy of the advancements and developments of technology, the world has become more digitally integrated. As a result, significant changes to the medium of interaction have taken place, alternating the communication preference of some people from direct chatting to online interacting. From my perspective, the phenomenon is going in the right direction and its prevalence can be justified for a host of reasons, which will be further elucidated in this essay.

First and foremost, the exponential increase in the ubiquity of online interaction and shopping is on the account of convenience. To specify, unlike going to stores and shops which could be time-consuming due to the long commuting routes and potential congestions during peak hours, shopping online only requires a stable internet connection and a smart technological device. Additionally, by using filters and add-ons online customers can buy products based upon their interests, locations, or preferences of price tiers. Combining with the function of applying several coupon codes at once, it is undeniable that going shopping on digital platforms is more flexible and reasonably priced than directly buying in-store.

Another major contribution to the increasing prevalence of communication is the efficiency in mitigating the spread of contagious diseases. To cite an example, due to Covid-19, coffee shops and other dining establishments have been forced to shut down. This has boosted the use of online communicating applications to meet up and catch up with friends and relatives. Moreover, in the past, it is highly probable that business meetings and seminars were likely to be organized under the form of face-to-face interactions. However, the pandemic prevention solutions strictures have become the prerequisites for the wide utility of online conference calls these days. By shedding light on this example, it is crystal clear that this notion will positively change the way people communicate in the future.

In conclusion, the reasons why digital communication has gained prominent ubiquity are on the basis of convenience and disease prevention. All things considered, it could be anticipated that online interaction will continue to flourish in the future.