People only work hard for money and there are no other reasons for doing that. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, working for longer hours is becoming increasingly common. It is argued that people work hard for no other reason other than money. I partly agree with this view and this essay will discuss whether people work hard for only money or not.

On the one hand, money plays entirely a significant role in working that many individuals cite money as the predominant factor behind their hard work. Every person needs money to meet their basic necessities such as buying food, paying rent, and utility bills. Due to the intense competition in current job markets, many work harder than ever before to make ends meet and support their family. Besides, people consistently endeavor to work hard so that they can get not only more money but also high amounts of rewards. For example, most companies provide people with special rewards if they work very productive regularly. Thus, people would try to be hard-working in order to get those rewards.

On the other hand, I believe that there are important factors associated with being hard-working at the workplace. Some people, having a passion for their job, always try to be hard-working and give their best in their task irrespective of expecting any special reward because they want to feel satisfied and confident with the task which they complete successfully. For instance, studies have concluded that there is a positive link between feeling self-confident and being successful in a task that requires to be worked hard. Therefore, many people give passionately their best in a job in order to achieve a high level of self-confidence. Another reason that encourages hard work is a desire to contribute to society. Firefighters are a case in point. The fact that many firefighters are willing to risk their lives to rescue others clearly shows that money is not their main motivation and that an altruistic wish to help others far exceeds other causes.

In conclusion, many people work hard due to several reasons. I partly agree with the view that money is an important factor in the level of working hard, and also I believe that a sense of self-confidence, the passion for a job and desire to help others are equally determinant factors too.