In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is true that in developed countries, purchasing home is considered to be much more important than renting one these days. From my perspective, while several factors caused this situation, I suppose that this is a positive trend.

There are some reasons that caused people to refer to have their own house. To begin with, having an own property is a symbol of social status. Especially in some Asian countries, people always consider success as having the wealth and material possessions, and the house is the most significant symbol. If people would not have their own house, others would not believe that he is a successful person. In addition, some people think that having their own house is a prerequisite for getting married. It is because having an own house is fundamental to build a family. Finally, without having their property, people always feel like homelessness as well as lack a sense of belongs.

Although the desire to own a home may make people feel more secure, it is generally not economically beneficial to society. The capital value of a habitation is often very large, so investing it in business will create jobs and greater total assets for society. One might argue that if people want to own a home, then the housing project owners will be able to sell it. This is true, but if more people do not, the rental market will be more developed, and the houses and apartments will still be in demand. The only difference is that housing services will grow, creating more jobs and a more dynamic society..

In conclusion, despite that at first glance paying the lease every month may seem to be a good idea, it is not cost-effective in a long-term perspective and may suffer to reimburse more in the case. Therefore, from a long-term perspective, this trend will bring more benefits.