People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

It is irrefutable that punishments with the aim of tackling the problem related to the criminal have become a master of controversy for every authority throughout the world. Therefore, while several people hold the faith that longer prison sentences are the most effective means of diminishing crime rates, there are numerous others, including me, support the idea of using alternative measures. Both of these pre-mentioned statements will be addressed in this essay

On the one hand, there are certain explanations for the imposing of longer prison sentences. One fundamental justification is that it will act as a more efficient deterrence to the potential offenders. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that plenty of people believe the imprisonment these days is inconsequential since it is too light and have no disincentive effect on the criminals. By the way of exemplifying, the average amount of time, except for the life imprisonment, that criminals in Vietnam serve their prison sentence is merely 8 years. Hence, offenders soon backslide once they have released from the bastille as the advantages of being a criminal are obviously outweighed the punishment. Consequently, with the awareness of getting extremely long harsh time in prison, people will have to double-check when deciding to commit a crime

Nevertheless, from my perspective, alternative solutions may make a greater contribution to scaling down the crime rates. There seems to be evidence that the educational solution plays a pivotal role in reducing crime. It is irrefutable that if the majority of citizens are fully educated, criminal activities are less likely to occur. An illustration of this is that numerous criminal, especially the juvenile ones, grew up in the slum, thereby having no chance to access to education. Furthermore, one of the culprits of the backsliding of criminals is due to unemployment. Hence, if vocational training can be applied to the jailhouse, it will offer ex-offenders an opportunity to turn over a new leaf

In conclusion, one can claim that longer prison sentences are needed in order to reduce crime since the current ones are ineffective. Nevertheless, in my opinion, alternative solutions such as education will bring more impacts on diminishing criminal rates