People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.
It is widely believed that one solution to environmental problems would be for governments to
raise the price of petrol. While I consider that this might be an effective measure, I would argue
that other measures might have an even greater impact.
If national authorities raised taxes on petrol, this would address two environmental issues. Firstly,
in terms of private cars, motorists would limit the number and length of their journeys to
compensate for the extra expense. Governments would then be forced to upgrade and expand
public transport provision, as people would still need to travel to work, to school or to travel to
shops and hospitals, for example. Secondly, from the perspective of freight services, more
goods would have to be transported by rail rather than by truck. Both these measures would cut
down on emissions from vehicles and help to reduce the greenhouse effect.
On the other hand, while this rise in fuel prices might be a useful stopgap measure, governments
could adopt transport policies which would be more effective in the long term. The local
authorities in London, for instance, introduced a congestion charge on all vehicles visiting the
city center. They use the money raised to subsidize the cost of fares and to invest in transport
infrastructure. In turn, this has improved the air quality in the city, as a result of the reduction in
exhaust fumes. Another policy would be to introduce free bus and train passes, as the increased
use of public transport would reduce pollution from private cars and help in the effort to combat
global warming.
In conclusion, a sharp rise in petrol prices would be a useful environmentally-friendly transport
measure, although in the longer term other steps would be more effective.