People who have been close friends for a very long time have recently realised they have some feelings for each other. They want to become a couple, but afraid of negative consequences.

Do the advantages of being a couple outweigh the disadvantages?

Romantic relationships have been an ubiquitous topic for debate across ages and classes of society. It is often claimed that sympathies between entities who have long close-knit in terms of friendships promote them to become a couple although they are concerned about further undesirable situations simultaneously. Notwithstanding undeniable benefits, personally speaking, drawbacks are more noteworthy.

There is conspicuous evidence demonstrating what people believe that romantic relationships as a result of close friendships can be advantageous. They often argue that the longevity of a relationship will be escalated due to better mutual understanding. This is often in the circumstances when people share the similar social background, habits and attitudes which are the fundamental parts in interpersonal correlations. In addition to this, a romantic relationship can help motivate and complete a person's sense of responsibility and maturity. Sympathies and wisdom in solving partners' problems are cited to exemplify this case.

On the contrary, I wholeheartedly believe that disadvantageous situations are worth considering. The most prominent drawbacks to take into consideration is lower performance at school or work. Examples can be seen easily when teenagers are addicted to become interactive with their partners by spending the bulk of their time chatting. Consequently, poor results in either study or career are inevitable which lead to adverse criticisms from teachers and employers. Moreover, long-lasting romantic relationships cannot be enduring because of the effect of over mutual understanding. It has been for a metaphor suggesting that curiosity and inconsistency between entities are rudimentary to maintain a healthy couple. Paradoxically, a sequence of over understanding can lead to boring, less motivated, energetic and passionate conditions.

To put things in a nutshell, although advantages undoubtedly exist, I believe that healthy, long-lasting romantic relationships between entities who have long friendships will not be acquired due to the mentioned problems.