The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Over the last decade, there has been a considerable raise in the obesity among children in the western nations. This essay will discuss the main causes of this bothersome trend and its deteriorating effect on health.

Diet plays an important role in the weight of an individual. Recently, there has been an increase in consumption of Junk foods by kids. Most fast food joints use sell food of low quality and high caloric value. Advertisements play an important role in targeting young children being attracted towards these unhealthy food. For example, separate Kids Meal Combo are available at various food joints such as McDonald's and KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken). These companies sell the meal deals along with few toys. Kids, who are attracted towards these insist parents on buying such food frequently. Moreover, with the advent of smart gadgets, kids are so immersed in playing video games that they are reluctant to spend time in outdoor activity.

These unhealthy habits have become a cause of concern for increasing obesity-related health issues. Being overweight disturbs the various metabolic process of the body. Furthermore, there is raise in the incidence of Diabetes and Stroke in children. A recent survey conducted by Cambridge University regarding the causes of heart attacks in children, has suggested that about 5% of them are due to overweight.

To conclude, the principal cause for obesity is the type of nourishment consumed and raising health issues with increased weight gain are the proof for it. It is recommended to start a Government Funded Health Awareness programme for children each school and encouraging them towards a healthy lifestyle.