topic:In some countries , it is illegal for companies to reject job applicant for their age. Is this positive or negative development.

In few nations, age is no longer considered as an important criterion for job application. In my opinion this is a negative development because not all genres of job suit every age group and employing young talent at work can increase the productivity of the company.

Different types of jobs need different skill sets. Certain jobs need good physical fitness. For example, the construction workers may have to stand for long hours and lift heavy weight and, the elderly job applicants may not be ready for such strenuous physical activity. Moreover, an old aged person cannot be expected to work as a construction labourer, with the same vigour as a young adult. In fact there is more chance of them being injured while performing such risky work. In a recent survey conducted in various industries, it was concluded that about 70% of medical compensation was spent on the labourers who are above 50 years of age.

Although the role of an experienced employ at work cannot be denied in few companies, there is a need to create opportunity for the younger generation to be in managerial roles. Recruiting young trainees, who with their innovative ideas improve productivity at work and as a result develop the company. For example, Google is hiring a lot of young applicants for the past few years, and each year the profits of the company are multiplied. In a recent interview the CEO of Google announced that despite a lot of competition among various companies, Google has secured a top position because of the refreshing and innovative ideas of the young recruited.

In conclusion, although in few countries, denying an applicant a job based on their age is considered as illegal, the fact that the elderly may not be suitable for all types of jobs cannot be neglected. Surely the new generation should be given chances in the directorial roles for the company to prosper.