topic:In some countries , it is illegal for companies to reject job applicant for their age. Is this positive or negative development.

In few nations, age is no longer considered as an important criterion for job application. I think this is a negative development since not all genres of job suit all age groups and employing young talent at work can increase the productivity of the company.

Different jobs need different skill sets. Few jobs may require the applicant to have good physical fitness. For instance, a construction worker may have work long hours and lift heavy weights. The elderly job applicants may not be ready for such strenuous physical activity required for the job. An old aged person cannot be expected to work as a construction labourer, lifting heavy objects with the same vigour as a young adult. There is often chance of injury due to strenuous work in elderly. In a recent survey conducted in various industries, it was concluded that about 70% of medical compensation was spent on the labourers above 50 years of age.

Though the role of an experienced employ at work cannot be denied in few companies, there is a need to create opportunity for the younger generation to be in managerial roles. The experienced person, who may be continuing the job for social security, with no benefits to the company. Hiring young talents bring their innovative ideas, which lead to improved productivity at work and hence the development of the company. For example, Google is giving jobs to a lot of young applicants for the past few years, and each year the profits of the company are multiplied. In a recent interview the CEO of Google announced that despite extreme competition among various companies, Google has secured a top position because of the refreshing and innovative ideas of the young trainees.

In conclusion, though in few countries, denying an applicant a job based on their age is considered as illegal, the fact that the elderly may not be suitable for all types of jobs cannot be neglected. The new generation should be given chances in the directorial roles for the company to be prosperous.