topic:In some countries , it is illegal for companies to reject job applicant for their age. Is this positive or negative development.

In few nations, age is no longer considered as an important criteria for job application. I think this is a negative development since not all kinds of job suit all age groups and hiring young talent at work can increase the productivity of the company.

Different kind of jobs need different skill sets. Few jobs need good physical fitness and hence the elderly job applicants may not be ready for strenuous physical activity required for the job. For instance, an elderly cannot be expected to work as a construction labourer, lifting heavy weights with the same vigour as a young adult.

Though the role of an experienced employ at work cannot be denied in few companies, there is a need to create opportunity for the younger generation to be in managerial roles. Hiring young talents bring their innovative ideas, which lead to improved productivity at work and hence the development of the company. For example, Google is hiring a lot of young applicants for the past few years, and each year the profits of the company are multiplied. In a recent interview the CEO of Google announced that despite a lot of competition among various companies, Google has secured a top position because of the refreshing and innovative ideas of the young trainees.

In conclusion, though in few countries, denying an applicant a job based on their age is considered as illegal, the fact that the elderly may not be suitable for all types of jobs cannot be neglected. The new generation should be given chances in the directorial roles for the company to prosper.