The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in

the last ten years.

Throughout the last decade, nearly a 20% rise in the number of children who are obese has been noticed in western societies. This essay will thoroughly discuss the main reasons and consequences of this worrying trend.

One prime cause of this issue is bad nutrition and following poor diets. This is mainly because of the widespread of fast food restaurants over the past ten years. However, the meals and food prepared in such places are proven to be very unhealthy, and yet many children prefer eating fast food over homemade healthy meals. Furthermore, it is not only due to eating out, but also living a sedentary lifestyle can cause children obesity. Kids spending most of their day time on video games and mobile phones is interestingly commonplace, which reduces their movement throughout the day and becoming less physically active. Therefore, obesity and fatness is mostly occurring in children.

The outcome of this case is quite dangerous. Firstly, overweight leads to serious health issues that might affect the child severely, thus he or she won’t be able to continue their lives normally. We can take diabetes as an evident example, this illness means a child has to be injected with insulin for the rest of their life. Another thing, many overweight children receive criticism from the surrounding, especially bullying from other kids in schools, which leaves a negative impact on a child’s mentality losing their self confidence.

In conclusion, the reasons for obesity amongst kids are obviously numerous, and so are the negative consequences of it. Society in general, especially parents, must start working on deterring the spread of the issue.