A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been claimed that in today’s material world, social status and wealthiness represent a person’s value, with abstract ideas like honour, kindness and trust being of less importance. In my personal point of view, I partially agree with this statement, and the reasons for it will be elaborated in this essay.

First of all, today’s materialism implies us that wealthy people dominate our society. The richer we become, the more things we can do and the higher social status we achieve. Thus, it is not uncommon to witness that modern people are constantly striving for physical well-being. Moreover, it is people from upper social class that have gained control over everything. In other words, a person’s success is determined by the social class he comes from. In addition, it is evident that people from lower socioeconomic status are regarded themselves worthless in this society.

On the other hand, there could be a case for saying that inner values have better ability to identify a person. According to the saying, “Honesty is the best policy”, it is essential that people need to be honest to build trust with one another in a great number of things from making friends to dealing businesses. No matter how rich a person is, being dishonest will only bring disgrace to himself and his family. Another value that determines humanity is kindness without which we will be no difference from animals. On top of that it is crucial to have an honourable life regardless of our wealth.

To sum up, in evaluating a person’s worth in our society, it is impossible to leave out those precious inner values besides judgment by social status and material wealth. In fact, the former ones are spiritual strength while the latter ones indicate physical advantages.