A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, several institutions of the past have been completely forgotten by our generation. Thus, it is evident that a big part of the population considers the social status and material possession as the most important criteria for a persons quality. Unfortunately, trust and honor have lost their significance over the decades. Personally, I agree completely with this statement and this essay will discuss several reasons explaining my opinion.

To begin, it is undeniable that we live in a society and a century in which goods have a dominant role. With the rapid development of technology, a new phenomenon appeared in the world and that was consumerism. To explain that, consumerism was born by the desire of people to buy more and more materials which mostly may be useless. The impact, unfortunately, of this way of living and thinking is the reason for the decline of human values. For example, several worldwide magazines instead of presenting academic members o our generation, the make lists of the richest people. Regretfully, this changed the way we used to judge people.

To continue, another reason for this alteration is the fact that people and especially the younger ones have idealized celebrities. While a few decades ago, highly educated people were idols of the new era, nowadays, they have been replaced by people who became well known due to advertisements. Several examples of teenagers that follow blindly the way that celebrities dressed or behave can be given. The social status of someone became a reason to be considered worthy.

To conclude, it is apparent that the society that we live is in a huge morality crisis. Honor and trust are not important qualities anymore. However, all together we can reverse this situation which may have detrimental consequences in the future.