Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, the increasing rate of people deciding not to eat meat or fish has become a hot topic of discussion. Vegans, as they have been named, claim that this way of life makes them healthier and can also have major advantages for the world. Personally, I believe that veganism is the answer to the 21st-century diseases, such as diabetes and obesity, however it does suit everyone.

There is no doubt that the benefits of avoiding meat are more than consuming it regularly. First of all, it is evident that red meat increases the heart rate of the human body three times more than any other food product. The proof of this is the fact that less than 2% of vegan had stroke in the USA in 2017, whereas 75% of meat-eaters in the same year. In addition, necessary proteins that meat has can be found in legumes, like lentils and sometimes even in bigger proportions than in meat.

Moreover, the choice of veganism benefits the environment and can prevent the extinction of several species. Unfortunately, the human desire to taste the meat of almost every living creature has lead to a significant decrease in the numbers of many animals. Individual studies have shown that 15.000kg of crocodile meat is eaten in Australia every year, while the birth rate of them is declining rapidly. Thus, veganism can stop the loss the biodiversity on Earth nowadays.

To conclude, from my perspective, severe medical conditions can be eliminated by adopting this way of eating. Of course, it is completely personal decision to follow it, otherwise, we would have been in a non-democratic country and I doubt that it will ever be a universal choice.