Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, single-sex education has become a hot topic of discussion. Some people believe that separating male and female pupils would be more beneficial for their educational progress, while others that mixed schools will benefit them in terms of their social skills. In this essay both sides of the argument will be addressed before a conclusion is reached.

On one hand, allocating boys and girls in different schools can undeniably improve their grades in certain subjects. What I mean by this is that the brain morphology of each gender differs in small age; as a result boys are able to process information related to positive sciences extremely faster than girls. Thus, if a class had only male pupils, their educational progress would definitely be quicker than in a mixed class. This theory has been proved by the ‘’Exeter project’’ in which 4 schools exchanged pupils for a semester and in the end of it both group witnessed major improvements since tutors could have a different rhythm for each gender. Consequently, separating children could benefit their performance in school.

On the other hand, the co-educational system nowadays provides children with better social skills for their adult life. To elaborate, a mixed-sex environment is more representative of the real life, in which men and women share the same occupations. Thus, from the sensitive age of adolescents children are able to accept the differences between males and females which would result to healthy interpersonal relationships among mankind. Furthermore, it might resolve several social issues, such as discrimination and intimidation.

To sum up, the debate whether co-educational or single-sex education could benefit teenagers in a better way has not been answered for decades. However, it is my firm belief that detrimental consequences will occur in humanity if the option of single-sex education would be approved. Unfortunately, the level of homosexuality will rise whereas the child-birthrate would fall dramatically.