A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to their social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Given the power and influence of the super rich, it might seem as if social status and

material possessions are the new symbols of personal worth, but in everyday life I do not

think this is true.

It is apparent that most celebrities today are admired or envied solely for their material

wealth or position in various social hierarchies. Many of these people are known to turn

their backs on friends, cheat on their spouses or spend their evenings over-indulging in

alcohol and/or drugs. Things like owning a mansion, driving an expensive car and

getting into A-list parties are exalted above old-fashioned values. Ultimately, though, it is

the many readers of gossip magazines and celebrity blogs who reinforce these ideas.

Nevertheless, I do believe that in their day-to-day lives most people still believe in values

such as honour, kindness and trust. In some way most of us want to form loving families,

raise our children to be good citizens, stand up for the downtrodden and protect our

communities from harm. We still form friendships, romances and business partnerships

based on old-fashioned criteria. When our trust is abused or we are unfairly treated, we

see that as a major violation of our relationship and we judge the wrongdoer accordingly.