The population of most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities. What problem does over population in cities cause? How can these problems be solved?

Nations worldwide are dealing with the burning issue of overpopulation in megacities. This will discuss problems caused by the migration of people from rural to urban areas as well as possible solutions for them.

To begin with, there are two major problems that have been faced by overcrowded cities. First and foremost, vehicular pollution is closely related to modern cities. Due to increase in population, demand for cars also increases, which deteriorate health besides the environment in a way that vehicles produced the carbon monoxide. hence, the increase in the number of cars also pollutes the air. For example, a study conducted by Queen's land University concluded that 40% of the lungs related disease caused by carbon monoxide produced by automobiles.

Secondly, in overpopulated cities slam living is also a major concern, various migrants from rural areas were seen living below the par standard of living. Owing to the fact that the number of average people increases, the government find it strenuous to provide clean water and sanity. The clear example of this can be the recent survey conducted by Education Today concluded that countries, where people were evenly distributed, leads a stable life as compared to those where the population is not properly distributed. Hence, it is evident in megacities increase in population is not less than a challenge.

Although, numerous problems associated with overpopulation in cities, these problems are not surmountable. Firstly, air pollution can be controlled by choosing eco-friendly transportation system in suburb areas. Hence, reducing the demand for cars as well as air pollution. Secondly, the government should restrain manufacturing plants to rural areas. This will prosper the rural areas in a way that new opportunities will be available for the locals. Having jobs people almost dropped the idea of migrating toward cities. For example, the government of Pakistan restricts Engro Fertilizer manufacturing plant to Gawader which not only provide jobs to the locals but also encourage them to stay in the Gawader rather than moving to other cities.

In conclusion, in most countries, overpopulation needs to be severely dealt with by managing the transit system besides creating more job opportunities. In the future, the government should focus on long term projects to flourish the rural areas.