Some people think that government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some people are of the view that curbing crime is the sole responsibility of government, others opine that each person is responsible for their own safety. Before my personal opinion finalizes the discussion, I think first of all citizens should deter themselves from committing crimes, if they fail to do so, then it is government turns to control the crime.

On the one hand, some people feel that an individual should take care of their own safety. They feel this way because police cannot be omnipresent. In order to ensure safety, installation of CCTV camera seems to be a reliable option. Secondly, they should learn self-defense techniques to protect themselves from criminals. For example, in Japan, it is compulsory for the students to learn karate beside their studies. This helps them a lot in life when they face any unfortunate event/ situation. Thus, the safety of people is in their own hands.

On the other hand, there are certain limits which people cannot go beyond and therefore, the government has to play their part in reducing the crime rate by enforcing laws in a country. Stringent laws act as a deterrent and curb the crime rate. For example, in Saudi Arabia, the punishment for committing a small minor crime is so strict that people cannot even imagine committing a crime. Thus, it is evident that strict laws prevent criminals from committing a crime.

People should take precautionary measures to protect themselves from committing crimes whereas, government restrains criminal by regulating stringent laws. This essay discussed why people are responsible for their own safety; nonetheless, the government is more entitled to ensure crime prevention. Furthermore, in the future, government and citizen might join hands for the zero-crime rate in a country.