On nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the number?

In an education institute, approximately male students outweigh the female students in science. This essay will discuss the possible reasons and viable solutions to enhance the number of female students.

There are numerous factors which contributed to the lesser number of females in a science subject. First and foremost, girls are discouraged for higher studies because some people think they are only responsible to perform household chores, as a result, often girls after matriculation find it difficult to pursue their further studies. In addition to this, men are more prioritized to get higher education because in future they are solely liable for the breadwinning for their family. Secondly, girls are married in their early ages which also hinder their progress towards further education, this goes in a way that they are more focused to raise their children after marriage than their education. The relevant example of this is the survey report published by Queensland University, which concluded that only 23 percent of the women and 83 percent of men has completed their under graduation in Austria.

However, where there are problems, there are solutions as well, in order to increase the number of female students in a science course, Government should provide scholarships specifically for women, by having financial aid women soon start to pursue their further studies. Moreover, the government should take initiative as well such as advertising campaign about the role of females in science, by spreading awareness through media one can change the backward mindset.

In conclusion, females are demotivated to continue their studies as well as, their early marriages by the parents are the major reasons for the lesser number of females in science subjects but it can be overcome by providing scholarship exclusively for female students and spread the awareness about the females in science through advertising. In the future, there will be gender equality in educational institutions and women will be more empowered to take their decisions.