As populations grow and cities become more crowded there is pressure throughout the world to construct ever taller buildings to provide accommodation and offices Many people object to such developments citing the social as well as physical dangers 1 What

The ever-growing population indeed causes quite crowds in major cities, and this phenomenon demands the globe to build multi-storey buildings in order to provide habitations and offices for the public. However, some people oppose this as it causes physical hazards, along with social issues. In my view, skyscrapers have both advantages and disadvantages which would be outlined in this essay.

To begin with, it is often said that skyscrapers can utilise an optimum land for their constructions, where a maximum number of people can live, and the rest of the land could be utilised for infrastructure development such as healthcare education and transportation which fulfil the fundamental needs of the communities. For instance, in Beijing, China, they erect multi-storey constructions to combat the ever-growing population, as well as implementing basic amenities for its nationals. Furthermore, skyscrapers might accommodate the tight security for residence while installing CCTV surveillance, security guard frisking newcomers to easier identification of burglar, crimes which can safeguard the tenants. For example, some main towns in India such as Mumbai, New Delhi, Bangalore and Hyderabad have substantial security breach at multi-storey apartments.

However, skyscrapers also have drawbacks such as these are incredibly prone to earthquakes and other natural calamities. Tallest buildings might not be secure from natural disasters compared to single-storey houses; hence, catastrophic circumstances can be seen like infrastructural destruction, inhabitation collapse. Vijayawada city, India, for instance, is alerted to city dweller not to construct tallest apartments as it is highly prone to tsunami and earthquake. Besides, it leads to communication impairments among rented people due to fear of privacy revealing; therefore, they make barriers between each family. To illustrate, major cities of the globe follow this phenomenon, nowadays. Thus, skyscrapers are not suitable for natural disaster-prone geographical locations, and it causes inadequate communication among inhabitants.

In conclusion, it seems, skyscrapers have some benefits like optimum land utilisation, providing high security and drawbacks: unable to protect the natural calamities, along with impairment of communication in tenants. So, it has both merits and demerits which should be taken into consideration when establishing multi-storey apartments.