At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly.

What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, media has developed at an unprecedented rate. Which impacts people’s lives in different ways. This essay will outline some issues of media in our lives and explain why the media’s development has a negative one on life.

The rise of media around the globe such as internet applications has been affecting the quality of time. Most people spend a lot of time in front of their mobile phone screens without felling of time. For example in 2018, a study has been published by the New York Times newspaper reported that 80 percent of community members spend 40% of their daily time on social media.

The negative outcome is that media is slowly killing real activism and replacing it with slacktivism. Moreover, it creates a great gab between family members. In addition to, media sharing has encouraged public to use computers and mobile phones to express their concerns on social issues without actually having to engage actively with others in real life, which is against societal norms. For instance, research from a societal magazine in 2019 showed that the gab among family members was increasing by 30% from 2017 to 2018. As almost a quarter the world’s population is now on Facebook.

In conclusion, the power of media has shifted the balance from the hands of a few to the masses. Therefore, the media’s drawbacks effect on our social and ethical behaviour. It is recommended that we should be aware of the disadvantages of the media as well as its merits in order to raise our community standards.