Professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers make a greater contribution to society and so should be paid more than sports and entertainment personalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, sport and entertainment stars earn much more than ordinary people. Therefore, some people believe that those professional workers, such as doctors, nurses and teachers, who contribute more to the society ought to be paid more than personalities of sports and entertainment. However, I do not agree with this view.

Personalities working in sports and entertainment also contribute a lot to our society. We need entertainment and sport to relax ourselves after work. For example, we can play tennis, watch NBA or go to cinema with friends. Without these relaxations, our life would be very boring and tiring. Also, although the top players of these areas can make considerable amount of money, only a few people can become stars. Generally, most people in these areas are paid less than professional workers. Finally, the career life of sports and entertainment personalities are shorter than professional workers. For example, most professional soccer players retire when they reach 40 or younger. So, it is reasonable for them to make more money if they perform well.

There are also advantages to pay professional workers more than sports and entertainment personalities. First of all, it will attract more people to become professional workers, like doctors and teacher, and therefore this can improve national medication and education system. This means that we will have more skilled doctors to cure our diseases and more talented teachers to teach our next generation. In addition, it can make society more civilized because people will be inclined to go to university to get trained if they want to be professional workers which is paid more.

In summary, raising the income of professional workers do have a few advantages, but we cannot ignore the importance of sports and entertainment personalities.