Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

With the fast development of major cities, it is true that traffic congestion has gradually become a huge problem and most people, especially those who live in big cities, are affected by it. I think there are some measures to solve it.

Traffic jams is mainly caused by commuters travelling to work. Firstly, most people live in the suburbs outside city centres. This means that most workers need to drive or take public transport to work. Secondly, commuters tend to travel at the same time of day. A majority of company demands employees to go to work at 8.00, which causes that workers use transport at the same time and then increases traffic. Finally, cars and road space are not used efficiently. For example, when my mother drives to work, there is only her in the car where another four people can sit.

One measure to reduce traffic is that we should change our working habits. Specifically, the Internet can now be used to connect people and then meetings can be held as video conferences. Also, workers could be given flexible timetables and more people could work from home. For example, programmers could write codes at home, instead of bothering to drive to their company and do exactly the same thing. Another solution would be to tax drivers. This would drive workers to share their cars and travel together and also help to raise money for better public transport.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for traffic congestion and this problem can be tackled by changing our working habits and imposing a tax on drivers.