Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high tech media such as software videos or DVDs Do you agree or disagree

While with the advent of technology, some believe that if the public libraries are to remain, they should offer software, videos or DVDs to their users, others contend libraries should not allocate their restricted resource to such technological facilities.

Some may be under the impression that it is an unreasonable expenditure that libraries spend on high-tech media. However, providing these conveniences can save money significantly, due to e-books take up little space, and they also need to fewer staff members to organize as well. If provided, they would be able to reduce their maintenance and organization cost considerably. a large shelf of a library. Besides, they assert that traditionally a library is a place that shelves many books, and a reader can read or borrow. Although accurate in part, if they are to attract the young generation to reading, providing new resources is crucial. People have become more and more tech-savvy, and they consider it tremendously convenient to use multimedia resources, offering a dynamic combination of images, sounds, videos and virtual tours.

However, once they equip their libraries with new resources, they noticeably mitigate the environmental problems by minimizing logging to produce paper. This way, they importantly prevent deforestation and loss habitat, protecting different species of flora and fauna from extinction danger. Secondly, hard books take up a lot of space, leading to lack of place for updating books. To cite an example, a single DVD can store the entire volume of an Encyclopedia otherwise occupied a significant space. So, if they are to address this problem, using new technological resources would be a useful solution.

Clearly, although offering multimedia resources would be costly for public libraries, offering such facilities are inevitable affordable by reducing hidden costs, and fascinating people to involve in reading.