By punishing murderers with the death penalty society is also guilty of committing murder therefore life in prison is a better punishment for murderers To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement Give reasons for your answer and include an

Capital punishment possess a great threat to the offenders, however, many people believe that punishing criminals with life time imprisonment is a better option , as convicting the death penalty will also make society accountable. I do not agree with the above statement, as it is important to eliminate such offenders and keep the society safe.

People favoring capital punishment thinks that it helps to deter crime. As, this kind of punishment assures that committing such heinous crime will not be tolerated and it will help to create fear in the mind of criminals. Apart from this, a lot of money is saved that would otherwise go towards their care in prison. For example, in India a terrorist responsible for 9/11 attack was arrested and the government had to invest million of rupees to guard for him and lastly he was awarded the death penalty. The society will also feel safe once such criminals are eliminated.

On the other hand, sometimes capital punishment may wrongly convict an innocent person. To get to a verdict it is really important for the judge to pronounce the verdict the case very carefully. It is better to charge the murderer by knowing the motive behind their act. Offence done with an unstable mind shall be given a second chance. Also, executing prisoners creates a violent culture. And, no human has a right to take person's life even though if it is in the name of law.

In conclusion, I believe that charging with death penalty may take away the chance to reform for the murderer who convicted in an unstable mind. So, charging with the life time imprisonment seems a better option under such circumstances.