By punishing murderers with the death penalty,society is also guilty of committing murder.therefore,life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

you should write at least 250 words.

The issue whether the murderers should be punished with death penalty or not is a controversial one. Many people support the death penalty as a capital punishment and think that this is a vital way to establish peace and law in the world but there are lots of opinions against it. I support the death penalty for murderers if it's really necessary for prevailing peace but if there is any alternative way to give the criminals a chance to remorse and lead a civilized life again, and then they should be given it.

In today's society, life becomes very cruel. if we see a daily newspaper, then there should be an issue about murder or rape cases. Firstly, if society continues to believe in the idea 'blood for blood', what example will it give to the future generation? Crimes like murder and rape are not fixable, but perpetrators are definitely fixable. To illustrate, many murders occur as a self-defence and accident and the death penalty is not definitely the worthy of a trial for such people. Moreover, many atrocious criminals have changed and become good citizens and we should always focus on reforming criminals, not kill them like they did. What difference is there if both parties are guilty of committing murders?

Everybody deserves a second chance and putting the murderers isolated from the society to let them repent for what they did is a good enough punishment, in my opinion.

We should think about the convicted person's families and how their life will change if their close one is punished with the death penalty. Many developed countries like Finland and Norway have already abolished the death penalty and have set an example to be followed.

To conclude, for the humanities sake, we need to build a society where we do not act for vengeance but set an example for others while letting the perpetrators reform their lives and suffer from their prison sentence.