Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

The issue whether students should be given one long vacation each year or they should have several vacations throughout the year is the one that is open for debate. Some people believe that students should have a few short vacations. However, others believe that one long vacation each year have more benefits for students. Personally, I think that every position has advantages as well as disadvantages. In the following paragraphs I will analyze these opinions and present my view which is that students should have one short vacation and one long vacation every year.

From the one side, one long vacation every year can bring many benefits to the students. First of all, students will have the opportunity to work full time during this vacation. They will be able to earn some pocket money or even money to cover the cost of their education. I think it is a great experience. Moreover, students will be able to be more independent, they will learn how to earn money and how to spend them more carefully. I am from India. Unfortunately, I do not have any experience in the USA in this field, but in my country students can barely combine their education with their jobs. So, basically, students in my country have the opportunity to earn some money only during long vacation. Second of all, one long vocation gives students a great opportunity to travel, to learn more about other countries, their traditions and customs, gain more knowledge and experience.

From the other side, several short vocations bring a few benefits too. First of all, students have the opportunity to have a rest throughout the year. They can spend more time exercising, muster their strength for another term and then get higher grades. Second of all, during short vocations students usually have better opportunity to prepare for the incoming exams. Finally, usually a long vocation has a negative aspect: from my own experience students tend to forget many subjects they studied earlier. So, a couple of first weeks is usually spent on reviewing an old material.

To sum up, I think that in this case an intermediate position can be taken. Students should have one long vocation in summer and one short vocation in winter.