Q 17 More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information therefore there is no need to print books, magazines and newspapers on paper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the need for printed books has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to keep a record of information on paper, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from electronic books and magazines. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the availability of electronic documents has revolutionised the way people have access to a huge amount of information with greater ease on electronic devices, such as smartphones and tablets, regardless of time and place. To be more specific, not only can readers be free from bringing heavy hard copies, but they are also easily capable of finding the meaning of unknown words thanks to the search function of electronic gadgets. In addition, from the publishing companies' point of view, these firms are instantly able to correct mistakes, such as typing errors, on the Internet, instead of releasing new editions on paper, which costs a fortune.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the development of electronic documents merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that electronic materials can be hacked, which can exert a detrimental influence on both individuals and the government. This is because criminals can access personal information as well as the country's official documents. To provide a hypothetical example, if confidential information were revealed to offenders, this would pose a threat to national security. Another disadvantage is that if primary school students were only allowed to use electronic textbooks, a multitude of pupils who lack self-control would have difficulty concentrating on their classes since they can play online games or keep in touch with their friends on social networking services. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.