Q 17 More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information therefore there is no need to print books, magazines and newspapers on paper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the need for printed books has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to keep a record of information on paper, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the development of electronic books and magazines. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the introduction of electronic documents has revolutionised the way people have access to a huge amount of information on electronic devices, such as smartphones and tablets regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. Thus, not only can users of electronic gadgets be free from bringing heavy hard copies, but they are also able to find the meaning of unknown words thanks to the search function in devices. In addition, from the publishing companies' point of view, they are instantly capable of correcting their mistakes, including typing errors, on the Internet instead of releasing new editions on paper, which costs a fortune.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of electronic documents merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that electronic materials can be hacked, exerting a detrimental influence on both individuals and society. To be more specific, criminals can access personal information as well as countries' official documents. To provide a hypothetical example, if confidential information were revealed to offenders, this would pose a threat to national security. Furthermore, the availability of electronic books has a negative effect on pupils. If students are only allowed to use electronic textbooks, they would have difficulty concentrating on their classes given that they could play online games or keep in touch with their peers on electronic devices through social media. This can even do harm to their academic performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.